Focus on forest management

Emmerichshofen-01

The Emmerichshofen forest

The baroque castle, including the Emmerichshofen forest, which originated from a fiefdom of the Mainz Elector and built in 1768, became family property in 1824 and 1835. The estates have been managed to be sustainable since then from the reforestation in the 19th century to the nurturing and care given to the private forest to the exclusive recreational lake resort that was developed in the 1970s.

The Emmerichshofen weekend refuge near Kahl am Main is the result of years of design and landscaping work. The properties that have been cultivated here over the last few decades are each leased for 30 year-periods, whereas the wooden Scandinavian style buildings must be purchased by the previous owners respectively.

The surrounding forest offers a wide range of beech, oak, pine and spruce lumber, both in the form of logs as well as in sections and industrial lumber. Private wood buyers can purchase fire wood. The lakes in the Emmerichshofen forest are used by fishing clubs, which cultivate a diversity of fish species.

Deutsch

Schwerpunkt Forstwirtschaft

Emmerichshofen-01

Der Forst Emmerichshofen

Das um 1768 auf einem Lehen des Mainzer Kurfürsten errichtete Barockschloss samt Forst Emmerichshofen kamen 1824 und 1835 in Familienbesitz. Seither werden die Ländereien nachhaltig bewirtschaftet, von der Aufforstung im 19. Jahrhundert über die Hege und Pflege des Privatforstes bis hin zur Schaffung einer exklusiven Erholungs- und Seenlandschaft in den 1970er Jahren.

Das Wochenend-Refugium Emmerichshofen bei Kahl am Main wurde in jahrelanger Arbeit konzipiert und angelegt. Die seither über Jahrzehnte eingewachsenen Grundstücke werden auf jeweils 30 Jahre verpachtet, wobei die im skandinavischen Stil errichteten Holzhäuser von den jeweiligen Vorbesitzern erworben werden müssen. 

Der umliegende Forst bietet eine breite Palette von Buchen-, Eichen-, Kiefern- und Fichtenholz, sowohl als Stammholz als auch in Abschnitten und als Industrieholz. Selbstwerber können Brennholz erwerben. Die Seen im Forst Emmerichshofen werden von Anglervereinen genutzt, die eine große Artenvielfalt im Wasser hegen.

English