Main focus on agriculture

The Winterbüren and Waitzrodt Manors

The Winterbüren Manor has been owned by the family since 1783, and today it also farms the fields ­ belonging to the Waitzrodt Manor, which the family set up around 1800.

Combined, both manors are on around 400 hectares of land, which is used for commercial agriculture and forestry. In addition, as a service, the manors also cultivate the fields of other property owners.

Rohstoffe-Wibü

Winterbüren Manor is purely a farm operation. In addition to the typical grain types such as wheat and rye, the farm also cultivates rapeseed,  sugar beets and peas. Oats and elder cultures are farmed based on organic farming principles. Grains, fruits, elderflower and elderberries are cultivated and marketed in close collaboration with regional and supra regional processing and marketing operations, some of which are abroad.

In addition, the manors also cultivate a 50 hectare forest area as well as Christmas tree cultures. During Advent, Christmas tree sales (even such for those who chop down their own trees) and seasonal events for families and companies liven up the manor.

Waitzrodt Manor has been leased out for many years. The leaseholders, the Sommer family, operate a horse farm that is well-known in the region and beyond which was already used as a backdrop for a film shooting.

Deutsch

Schwerpunkt Landwirtschaft

Die Güter Winterbüren und Waitzrodt

Das Gut Winterbüren befindet sich seit 1783 im Familienbesitz und bewirtschaftet heute auch die Ackerflächen des Gutes Waitzrodt, das um 1800 von der Familie angelegt wurde.

Beide Güter umfassen zusammen etwa 400 Hektar und werden land- und forstwirtschaftlich genutzt. Darüber hinaus werden als Dienstleistung die Ackerflächen anderer Eigentümer bewirtschaftet.

Rohstoffe-Wibü

Gut Winterbüren ist ein reiner Ackerbaubetrieb. Neben gängigen Getreidesorten wie Weizen oder Roggen werden auch Raps, Zuckerrüben und Erbsen angebaut. Hafer- und Holunderkulturen werden nach den Prinzipien des biologischen Landbaus bewirtschaftet. Anbau und Vertrieb von Getreide, Früchten, Holunderblüten und -beeren erfolgen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen und überregionalen Verarbeitungs- und Vermarktungsbetrieben, zum Teil auch im Ausland.

Daneben werden 50 Hektar Forstfläche sowie Weihnachtsbaumkulturen bewirtschaftet. In der Adventszeit belebt der Weihnachtsbaumverkauf (auch zum Selbstschlagen) mit Veranstaltungen für Familien und Firmen den Hof.

Das Gut Waitzrodt ist seit vielen Jahren verpachtet. Die Pächterfamilie Sommer betreibt dort einen weit über die Region hinaus bekannten Pferdehof, der auch schon als Kulisse für Filmdreharbeiten genutzt wurde.

English